Bank Holidays In India 2014

2014 Public Holidays In Mumbai, Hyderabad, Delhi, Pune

Bank Holidays In Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi 2014

Bank Holidays In Kerala, Mumbai, Kolkata, India 2014

I bet you didn't know or realise that we have over 160 Public Holidays in the Calendar Year 2014. And, I am very sure that you probably think this page is a joke or that I am lying to you or kidding with you. If you do feel this is a joke then I suggest you read on....

Well, it's true - India will have more than 160 Public Holidays in the Year 2014. If you do not believe me then continue reading the thoroughly researched facts below....

The United Nations has designated 2014 as the International Year of Crystallography, Family Farming, and Small Island Developing States. For China, it is the year of the Horse.

Firstly, let us check the official public and bank holidays in India.....

Public and Bank Holidays in India 2014
January 01 (Wednesday) - New Year's Day
January 14 (Tuesday) - Eid-E-Milad/Makar Sakranti/Pongal
January 25 (Friday) - Id-E-Milad
January 26 (Sunday) - Republic Day
February 19 (Wednesday) - Shivaji Jayanti
February 27 (Thursday) - Maha Shivratri
March 17 (Monday) - Holi
March 31 (Monday) - Gudi Padwa/Chaitra Sukhladi/Ugadi/Cheti Chand
April 8 (Tuesday) - Sri Ram Navami
April 14 (Monday) - Dr.Ambedkar Jayanti
April 18 (Friday) - Good Friday
April 20 (Sunday) - Easter
April 23 (Wednesday) - Mahavir Jayanti
May 01 (Thursday) - Maharashtra / May Day
May 14 (Wednesday) - Buddha Purnima
July 29 (Tuesday) - Ramzan Id

ways-to-save-money

August 11 (Monday) - Nag Panchami
August 15 (Friday) - Independence Day
August 18 (Monday) - Parsi New Year / Raksha Bandhan
August 29 (Friday) - Ganesh Chaturthi/Janmashtami
October 02 (Thursday) - Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi
October 03 (Friday) - Dussehra
October 06 (Monday) - Bakri Id
October 23 (Thursday) - Laxmi Puja
October 24 (Friday) - Diwali
October 25 (Saturday) - Bhaubheej
November 04 (Tuesday) - Muharram
November 06 (Thursday) - Guru Nanak Jayanthi
December 25 (Thursday) Christmas

top-trends-today

2014 Public Holidays in USA
International New Year’s Day - January 1
Martin L King’s Day - Monday, 17 January 2014
Presidents’ Day - Monday, 21 February 2014
Memorial Day - Monday, 30 May 2014
Independence Day - Monday, 4 July 2014
Labor Day - Monday, 5 September 2014
Columbus Day - Monday, 10 October 2014
Veteran’s Day - Friday, 11 November 2014
Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, 24 November 2014
Christmas Day - Sunday, December 25 & Monday, 26 December 2014

Keep the following event calendar for 2014 holidays and special events in mind when planning and scheduling events:

January 2014 Holidays and Events
* January 1 (Saturday), New Year’s Day
* January 17 (Tuesday), Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
* January 17 (Tuesday), Australian Open (through January 30)
* January 28 (Friday), Berlin Six Day Race (through February 2)

February 2014 Holidays and Events
* Black History Month (U.S.)
* February 3 (Thursday), Chinese New Year
* February 6 (Sunday), Super Bowl XLIV (Cowboys Stadium, Arlington, TX)
* February 10 (Thursday), Berlin International Film Festival (through February 20)
* February 12 (Saturday), Lincoln’s Birthday (U.S.)
* February 13 (Sunday), BAFTA Awards (UK)
* February 14 (Monday), Valentine's Day
* February 20 (Sunday), Daytona 500
* February 21 (Monday), President’s Day
* February 27 (Sunday), Academy Awards

March 2014 Holidays and Events
* March 6 (Sunday), Barcelona Marathon
* March 8 (Tuesday), Mardi Gras
* March 9 (Wednesday), Ash Wednesday
* March 13 (Sunday), Daylight Savings Time starts at 2 a.m. (U.S.)
* March 13 (Sunday), Mothering Day, UK
* March 15 (Tuesday), Las Fellas (Valencia, Spain; ends March 19)
* March 17 (Thursday), St. Patrick’s Day
* March 17 (Thursday), Dubai International Arabian Horse Championship

April 2014 Holidays and Events
* April 2, 4 (Saturday, Monday), Final Four (Houston, TX)
* April 4 (Monday), Masters Tournament (Georgia, USA, through April 10)
* April 15 (Friday), Semana Santa (Holy Week)
* April 18 (Monday), Passover (through April 25)
* April 18 (Monday), Boston Marathon
* April 21 (Thursday), Holy Thursday
* April 22 (Friday), Good Friday
* April 24 (Sunday), Easter
* April 25 (Monday), Easter Monday (UK, Canada)
* April 27 (Wednesday), Administrative Professionals Day
* April 29 (Friday), Golden Week (Japan, through May 5)

May 2014 Holidays and Events
* May 1 (Sunday), Holocaust Remembrance Day
* May 1 (Sunday), May Day Holiday, Bank Holiday Observed May 2 (UK)
* May 5 (Thursday), Cinco de Mayo
* May 7 (Saturday), Kentucky Derby
* May 8 (Sunday), Mother’s Day
* May 11 (Wednesday), Cannes Film Festival (through May 22)
* May 17 (Tuesday), French Open (through June 5)
* May 23 (Monday), Victoria Day (Canada, Scotland)
* May 29 (Sunday), Indianpolis 500
* May 30 (Monday), Memorial Day (U.S.)

June 2014 Holidays and Events
* June 19 (Sunday), Father’s Day
* June 20 (Monday), Wimbledon 2010 (through July 3)

July 2014 Holidays and Events
* July 1 (Friday), Canada Day (Canada)
* July 4 (Monday), Independence Day (U.S.)
* July 6 (Wednesday), Running of the Bulls in Pamplona (through July 14)
* July 12 (Tuesday), 2014 MLB All Star Game (Chase Field, Phoenix)
* July 14 (Thursday), British Open 2010 (through July 17)
* July 14 (Thursday), Bastille Day (France)

August 2014 Holidays and Events
* August 1 (Monday), Ramadan (through October 30)
* August 14 (Sunday) Ferragosto, (Italy)
* August 30 (Tuesday), Summer Bank Holiday (UK, Ireland)

September 2014 Holidays and Events
* September 4 (Sunday), Father’s Day (Australia, New Zealand)
* September 5 (Monday), Labor Day (U.S.)
* September 5 (Monday), Labour Day (Canada)
* Hispanic Heritage Month, September 15-October 15 (U.S.)
* September 17 (Sunday), Oktoberfest, Munich, Germany (ends Oct 3)
* September 24 (Saturday), La Mercé (Barcelona, Spain)
* September 28 (Thursday), Rosh Hashanah

October 2014 Holidays and Events
* October 7 (Friday), Yom Kippur
* October 10 (Monday), Columbus Day
* October 10 (Monday), Thanksgiving (Canada)
* October 31 (Monday), Halloween

November 2014 Holidays and Events
* November 6 (Sunday), Daylight Savings Time ends at 2 a.m.
* November 8 (Tuesday), Election Day (U.S.)
* November 11 (Friday), Veterans Day (U.S.)
* November 11 (Friday), Remembrance Day (UK, Canada)
* November 24 (Thursday), Thanksgiving (U.S.)
* November 27 (Sunday), 2010 Grey Cup (Vancouver, BC, Canada)

December 2014 Holidays and Events
* December 20 (Tuesday), Hanukkah (begins at sundown the previous day)
* December 25 (Sunday), Christmas
* December 26 (Monday), Kwanzaa
* December 26 (Monday), Boxing Day (UK, Canada, Ireland)

Major holidays in 2014
January 1 – New Year's Day.
January 7 (6 in Armenia) – Orthodox Christmas.
January 14 – Makar Sankranti, Hinduism & Pongal, Tamil.
February 2 – Imbolc, a Cross-quarter day.
February 3 – Chinese New Year.
March 8 – Shrove Tuesday / Mardi Gras, end of Mardi Gras / Carnival season.
March 9 – Ash Wednesday (first day of Lent).
March 20 – Holi.
March 21 – (Northern hemisphere) Vernal equinox, also known as Ostara.
April 18 – Passover begins at sundown.
April 24 – Easter (Western and Orthodox).
May 1 – Beltane, a Cross-quarter day.
June 7 – Shavuot begins.
June 21 – Summer solstice (northern), Winter solstice (southern).
August 1 – Ramadhan Begins — Islam.
August 1 – Lammas, a Cross-quarter day.
August 31 – Eid al-Fitr.
September 23 – (Northern hemisphere) Autumnal equinox, known as Mabon.
September 28 – Rosh Hashana begins at sundown.
October 7 – Yom Kippur begins at sundown.
October 26 – Diwali, a religious holiday in India.
November 1 – Samhain, a Cross-quarter day and Neopagan new year.
November 6 – Eid al-Adha.
November 26 – Islamic New Year.
December 20 – Chanukah.
December 22 – Winter solstice (northern), Summer solstice (southern).
December 25 – Christmas.

2014 (MMXI) will be a common year starting on Saturday. In the Gregorian calendar, it is the 2014th year of the Common Era or the Anno Domini designation; the 11th year of the 3rd millennium and of the 21st century; and the 2nd of the 2010s decade.

2014 Public Holidays in India Facts

There are 15 Bank Holidays in India in 2014.

2 Bank Holidays on Mondays makes it 2 long weekends (for those that have an off on Saturdays as well).

2 Holidays on Tuesdays & 2 on Wednesdays makes Mid-Week working days a real bore.

1 Holidays on Thursdays makes Thursdays boring as well. Of course, shop owners in some parts of the western suburbs are closed on Thursdays. But, we cannot take them into consideration as they form a tiny amount of the working class population of India.

1 Holiday on Fridays makes the weekends in India longer on 1 fantastic Friday.

7 Holidays on Saturdays and Sundays in a single year is like a curse. That’s 7 extra working days technically speaking, and no time to attend online courses on Enoma.net.

Avoid major plans for 26 & 11 numbered days every month in the year 2014 as most terror attacks, accidents, disasters, etc. take place on 26 or 11 numbered days. And, of course 8 is supposedly another unlucky number for Mumbai city, India.

June is the most boring month of 2014 with no Bank Holidays.

July is the next boring month. However, with rainy days & floods we usually get 4 extra holidays in July.

Add another 2 holidays in June, another 2 in August, another 2 in September thanks to Floods in major parts of India (and the poor muncipal workers have to sometimes work on double shifts to clear the water up at some places). Mr. Minister please consider giving the poor workers more public holidays and leaves in 2014 and the future years.

Most "smart Indians" makes full use of these flood holidays by going on a picnic. Some even go to Goa and if you are one of them then you are probably my friend.

December also makes it to the boring month list with just 2 bank holidays.

Of course, nobody in their right mind works on 31st December (atleast not for the whole day anyway). So, we can count 31st as a half working day.

Diwali comes on a Wednesday which means 1 less weekend of Bank Holidays for all of us in 2014. But, remember we still have over 159 public holidays in 2014 to make up for it.

Gandhi Jayanti also comes on a Sunday which means 1 more Public & Bank Holiday comes on a lovely Sunday in India in the year 2014.

Expect another 4 Holidays for weird reasons in your personal life in 2014.

Add another 47 Holidays on Sundays (unless You work like me on Sundays and have holidays the rest of the week).

Add another 24 Days (48 Half Working Days or 48 Full Holidays for most people) on Saturdays.

Add another 40 odd days of Paid Leaves for all those who belong to the Public Sector (30 Days for some unlucky souls and those that work in the Private Sector).

Add another 4 days for forced or unfortunate public holidays in 2014 due to flu epidemics, major terror attacks, bomb blasts, political disasters, VIPs dying, India bandhs, etc.

Add another 3 fortunate holidays due to family commitments such as weddings, births, funerals (of relatives you are happy to see pass away), other family and friends functions, etc.

The biggest excuses for reaching 1/2 an hour late to work are road traffic and trains being late. Indians are late to work more than 60 days per year. That's another 1 day Holiday. Your boss cannot complain as he is often more than 1 hour late himself.

Add another 1 hour for lunch and tea breaks per working day. That's another 225 odd Hours or 9 more Public Holidays in 2014 (Unless you are one of those silly bank clerks who works at his desk during lunch breaks).

Even if we cut down 5 of these holidays due to miscalculations we still end up with over 160 public holidays in India in 2014.

That’s over 160 Public Holidays for working people in India

or

150 Holidays for almost everyone else in INDIA.

Which Means We Work less than 200 Days in 2014!

and the REST OF THE WORLD works 250 days in 2014!

And, people say Indians are among the hardest working people on Earth!

What Are You Planning To Do On These 160 Public Holidays

- 80 % of Indians will sit at home, watch TV and do nothing much.

- Another 15 % go visiting friends, family members, socializing, etc.

- The remaining 5% are people like you who will be working on their laptops or PCs at their Desks in their compact offices in posh office districts of Mumbai and reading stuff like this (and wishing that you had more than 26 Public Holidays in 2014)!

In life, those that get what they really want and those that are truly happy live on their own terms and spend more time on recreation, creative hobbies, family time and pure fun.

And, those that don't get what they want in life spend all their free time at home watching live (and relayed) cricket matches, re-runs of Bollywood movies and 'Breaking' NEWS channels.

And, most of their free time in the office is spent on Facebook or trying to chat up a 65 year old guy online. People who don't get what they want in their lives or aren't happy usually don't read good books, haven't watched the right stuff on TV, and nor have they attended a good soft skills course (such as personality development) in India.